The 3 Peaks 24 Hour Challenge, the “C” word and making a difference.

28 Feb

So there The Accomplice and I were, bantering along as we do, and he was telling me about his mates that are going to be doing The 3 Peaks 24 Hour Challenge. As usual – I jumped in and asked about 20 000 questions, what’s that, where, who, how etc before he even has the chance carry on with his story. Turns out it’s walking, and traveling between, the highest mountains in Scotland (Ben Nevis), England (Scafell Pike) and Wales (Snowdon) ALL WITHIN 24 HOURS. “Now THAT, my friend, is just ridik” I bleated.

Ben Nevis - So like this but TIMES THREE.

But there’s more. They’re doing it to raise money for Brain Tumour UK. Yes people, the “C” word. And we all know how much I despise this word and disease, we’ve had this conversation before my lovely. Having lost my Dad to cancer just over a year ago I know how heart breaking and difficult it is to have family and friends fighting this disease so I fully support any effort for anyone who tries to make a difference. So The Accomplice suggested I post this to my blog to help with donations, and of course I would. I most certainly do not think that it is ridiculous – I think the amazing effort that this group of friends is making is just incredible.

I read Craig’s story today on his donations page and his sister, Suzanne, has a brain tumour. I know how difficult it is seeing someone you love so much live and fight cancer and her story broke my heart – what a true fighter. It’s all fair and well to read these things, but if we don’t do something to change it and make people’s quality of life better, well, we’ll keep reading stories. Which is unacceptable.

So bottom line – pull your little Visa card out and DONATE. It takes a few minutes and is super easy. I don’t ask too much of you and I’m asking you so nicely to help make a difference and support Craig.

Here’s the link where you can donate and read about Suzanne’s brave journey – http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-web/fundraiser/showFundraiserProfilePage.action?userUrl=CraigPetrie

Good luck to the team doing it. You’ll SMASH it.

Miss M x

5 Responses to “The 3 Peaks 24 Hour Challenge, the “C” word and making a difference.”

  1. Craig Petrie February 28, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Wow that’s really great of you to blog about my donations page and my sister Suzanne’s story Mel. Thanks also so much for such a generous donation. I’m very sorry to hear you lost your Dad to cancer, hopefully the money raised can help in some small way to prevent losing more loved ones in the future.

    Thanks again,
    Craig

    • Miss M February 28, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      Only a pleasure – it’s a cause very close to my heart obviously and what you’re doing is amazing.

      Best of luck!

  2. Stuart May 11, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

    Hi Miss M

    I would like permission to use your Ben Nevis photo on this page: http://www.kirstyskids.org/events-130608.php .

    Thanks in anticipation.

    • Miss M May 12, 2013 at 11:14 am #

      Hello – I found it online myself so by all means use it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wow! What an incredible start « Craigdpetrie's Blog - February 29, 2012

    […] his housemate Mel who then herself kindly donated and featured it on her blog – have a look at https://onlymissm.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/the-3-peaks-24-hour-challenge-the-c-word-and-making-a-diff….  The whole thing has been incredible!  This shows the power of passing the link on so please […]

Leave a Reply

