Little Bronwyn Truter’s story made me stop to think.

15 Nov

I just heard the most heart breaking, yet moving story on Highveld on the Breakfast Xpresss and decided to do something about it. Well, as much as I can do. Yes, I live in the desert darlings but listening to Saffa radio gets me through a part of my day. Keeps you close to your roots, ya know – and I have to keep my eye on the old Republic.

It’s about a little girl, Bronwyn Truter. She fell into a coma after being diagnosed with severe insulin dependent diabetes type 1 in 2010. From being diagnosed, to being resuscitated back to life, to her parents being told to say their goodbye’s and refusing to so moving her to another hospital… and the story just goes on and on – it’s been a long and traumatic road for this family. After three months in a coma, she suffered cardiac arrest, impaired vision and sustained brain damage to her right frontal lobe. I mean, this is an 8 year old little girl that has gone through all of this trauma and still is, a year later. What a little fighter. Just breaks my heart and I cannot imagine what her parents must be going through seeing this happening to their daughter.

So – 94.7 Highveld Stereo has their Christmas Wishlist every year. A company called Interactive Technologies ( http://www.inter-active.co.za/) responded to Bronwyn’s wishlist in 2010 by pledging R 100 000 and have continued to support her during 2011 with an additional R 200 000 in financial support. What an amazing company. There are other companies that have also got involved which is fabulous. She is at home but requires 24 hour medical care and is constantly fighting for her life. I don’t think I can even comprehend what her medical bills must me. I am sure extortionate.


Bottom line – she needs help. And you can do something to help. This is what her wishlist is, check it out on Interactive Technologies website:

http://www.inter-active.co.za/BronwynWishlist.aspx

I got in touch with Jeanne from Interactive Technologies to see how a person can go about helping her. Every little bit helps people, so you can either donate an item from her list or donate money towards her wishlist. No amount is too small and her gratitude towards me blew me away. If you want to get involved contact Jeanne Sandras at Jeanne@inter-active.co.za or +27 83 609 8861. She will be able to provide you with further information or bank details.

This story really made me sit back for a second and realize that when you’re having the kakkest day it really is NOT all that bad and we should really be grateful for our healthy lives. If someone had to ask me what my wishlist was, well, it would be Louboutins, Tiffany jewelry, 2 week family trip to Bora Bora, Audi A1 and all random materialistic things that really don’t count for much – how shallow, I’m actually embarrassed! This little girls list is literally one to save her life.

Go on. One less night on the town during the silly season could help save a little life. Diabetes is serious. And I take it seriously because a very special someone too close too my heart lives with it every day.

Get involved kids. I know you want to.

Miss M x

3 Responses to “Little Bronwyn Truter’s story made me stop to think.”

  1. Jim Enslin November 15, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    I had the oppertunity to meet this little girl and she truely is an inspiration to alot of people.Bronwyn is a real fighter,she has been through so much but still she does not give in,Bronwyn you are a real angel……..

    • Miss M November 16, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      She does seem like such a fighter. What a precious little girl!

  2. Rosa Britz December 14, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    We miss u a lot Angel and we pray for u every night to get better Love u lots from Aunty Rosa ,Uncle Shaun ,Justin and Shaun

Leave a Reply

