Eat Out Awards 2011. Oh, DEAR ME!

28 Oct

If you’re a Saffa and love good wining and dining as much as I do you’ll know all about the prestigious Eat Out Awards. Check Eat Out here if you’re not in the know, tsk tsk – http://www.eatout.co.za/

These awards honour the Best RestaurantChef of the YearService Excellence and Top 10 restaurant, along with additional categories for Best New Restaurant, and the Boschendal Style Award for a restaurant with spectacular design. This year, they’ve included the following new categories that will also honour the best: Asian restaurant, Steakhouse, Italian restaurant, Country-style restaurant and Bistro. You can see all the nominated restaurants on their site.

So this is where I get to name drop as much as I want to and just don’t expect me to be diplomatic here because I just so won’t you see. Yes, of course the restaurant where my sister is the Head Chef, Dear Me, is right in here. They have been nominated for the Boschendal Style Award and one of the 10 nominees for Best Bistro. I just get a lump in my throat and a little tear in my eye whilst I am writing this – I am just SO crazy mad proud of you my little one.

Vanessa Marx – in case you didn’t know she’s my sister.

Dear Me has only been open for 7 months and has taken the Cape Town scene by storm with Tjing Tjing Rooftop Bar becoming the latest night jol hot spot. Now, I have not had the privilege to eat at the restaurant yet as I live in the desert but let’s be real peaches – the Chef cooks for me for a laugh when I’m at home so I know exactly why Capetonians are crazy about her food. I have also not been able to sip on copious amounts of bubbly on the rooftop either, yet. But trust me, this will be happening so very soon.

Nessie, I am so unbelievably proud of you and I claim all rights to name drop at any possible opportunity whether you like it or not. Ilze and the whole Dear Me team – BEST OF LUCK for the awards on the 20th of November you little biscuits!

Check Dear Me out here – http://www.dearme.co.za/ and follow them on Twitter tweethearts @DearMeFoodWorld and @TjingTjingBar. You can find this amaze place at 165 Long Market Street in the city bowl, Cape Town, and phone them on +27 21 422 4920 for bookings.

Go get ‘em kiddo. We’re behind you all the way and love you so very much .

Miss  M x

Leave a Reply

