NO COFFEE!? Excuse me, WHY!?

13 Apr

So I’m quite excited to be participating in THE NO COFFEE PROJECT at work today. Um, not quite. Not since I have spent the last 3 nights glued to my TV watching “ex oh ex oh” Gossip Girl until stupid o’clock in the morning on school nights. Stooopid girl. Stooopid.

OK but jokes aside – I am excited. Here’s what it’s all about. Imagine if all of the TBWA offices globally gave up coffee for a day and what they would have spent on coffee they give to charity. Now just let me explain this. for a minute This is a MAHOOSIVE ask. Advertising peeps drink the stuff that is caffeine by the gallons. I however, have given it up and drink rooibos tea instead. So good. But still, after late nights in the office or hangover mornings I will definitely suck back on a Starbucks cuppa. Over and above this we purchased T-shirts and badges and that cash will go to the charity too.

This is where I get really excited!!! The charity is Room 13. Room 13 is a network of art students around South Africa and children run it. They run it as their own business. They don’t just learn creative skills, but also life skills and business skills. Little tear in my eye, obviously so close to my heart because it’s my beloved country and I am so Proudly South African, it’s a joke. This Saffa lurves her country much!

How do you not LURVE this country. Home sick – bleh!

OK so other than no coffee after too much Gossip Girl, a slight fashion malfunction to work with the t-shirt today (which I’ve tried to spruce up with a cardi and funky head band) I’m excited! We’ve given up something we can’t live without for children who live with nothing.

CAN THE CAFFEINE! Love it.

Miss M x

2 Responses to “NO COFFEE!? Excuse me, WHY!?”

  1. Jimmy the Saint April 18, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Makes me miss home. And just thinking about no coffee makes me miss mydaily cup. Great CPT pic. What a luffly country, perched on the tip of the continent.

    • Miss M April 18, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Heart Cape Town much! But for now, see you in the Pines next week Mr Square Pant!

Leave a Reply

