Constantia Fresh, and my sister’s (almost) famous!

15 Feb

OK I just had a little teary moment, my little sister, Vanessa Marx, has been selected amongst 5 other top male chefs for the “Best White Blends Constantia Taste Festival” in Cape Town. Lump in throat, tear drop – I’m so proud of her! Now I’m not one to brag, but in this case I will – thank you kindly.

Constantia Fresh is going to be held at the Buitenverwachting farm in the Constantia Valley in Cape Town on the 25th and 26th of February 2011. This is basically a wine festival that will focus on featuring Sauvignon blends and other white blends from the Constantia Valley and elsewhere, both locally and internationally. Can you imagine – white vino from all my fav’s! Constantia Uitsig, Klein Constantia, Groot Constantia, Steenberg, Buitenverwachting and Constantia Glen. Pure bliss!

Now back to the bit about my little sister. She’s a Chef as I’m sure you have worked out and here’s a bit about her, taken from the Constantia Fresh site http://constantiafresh.com/chefs.htm  Check it out.

So gorgeous !

Vanessa Marx attended the Institute of Culinary Arts in the Cape Winelands and graduated in 2005. After doing her apprenticeship at Peter Goffe-Wood’s PGW eat and Kitchen Cowboys, she continued to be mentored by Pete until 2007.

Vanessa then went abroad to widen her culinary experience and worked on a privately owned yacht in the south of France, as well as at a private residence in Zurich. Her travels took her to London where she worked at food and wine bar Vinoteca (Farringdon), where she developed her ability to create menus daily, using only the freshest and most seaonal produce available,as well as observing the art of pairing wines with food.

On her return to Cape Town, Vanessa worked at Cassia under English chef Dan Evans, formerly of Michelin-starred Odette’s and Anglesea Arms in London. She then went on to work for Charl Coetzee of the Caveau group, and currently finds herself in the final stages of preparation for the opening of much awaited new CBD restaurant Dear Me.

Dear Me is the brain child of Ilze Koekemoer, who teamed up with Vanessa to make it all come to life. The menu is based on seasonal, local and ethically farmed produce. Dear Me’s philosophy is about creating an awareness of what you are eating, how it was produced and where it comes from.

“My food is inspired by people, places and seasons”, says chef Vanessa,”people like the women in my life, and the men in the kitchens I have worked in. Places I have seen and places I dream of seeing.”

“I am constantly in awe of nature, and just as you get in the comfort zone of a certain time of year, so you see the produce of the next season creeping in, and a crush begins to develop as you start falling in love with the coming season and the abundance of produce and fresh ideas it has to offer.”

So what she (and the other chefs) will be doing at the Festival is making canapes which will be paired with the wines from selected estates that they’ll be given.

Now this is where being an expat really really down right sucks. I so wish I could be there (wine glass in hand and bursting with pride). I love wine (that’s no secret) and my sister is cooking! The restaurant Dear Me will also be opening very soon – I’ll update you on this closer to the time and I’m missing that. Sigh.

Can I just say again how proud I am of you my little one! So young, so talented and you’re related to me (this could be a mistake)!

Here’s the link for more info: http://constantiafresh.com/home.htm

Capetonian peaches, get involved! Nessie, good luck! You’re going to be fab! And I love you.

Someone pass the tissues please.

Miss M x

Leave a Reply

